Items and metadata
Read an item's metadata record, a friendly summary, single fields, and its file listing.
Every item on archive.org has a metadata record and a set of files. archive
gives you three views of it: item for a summary, metadata for the raw
record, and files for the file listing.
A friendly summary
archive item nasa
item pulls the identifier, title, mediatype, file count, total size, the
hosting server, and the details URL into one short table. It is the fastest way
to see what an identifier actually is.
The raw metadata record
archive metadata nasa
This prints the full JSON document the Metadata API returns: the metadata
block, the files array, server and directory info, and timestamps. Pipe it
into jq for anything specific, or let archive pull a single field for you by
passing a slash-path subpath:
archive metadata nasa metadata/title # just the title
archive metadata nasa metadata # just the metadata block
archive metadata nasa files # just the files array
Listing files
archive files nasa
Each row is one file: name, size, format, and md5. Narrow the listing with a
shell glob on the name or a substring match on archive's format field:
archive files nasa --glob '*.jpg'
archive files principleofrelat00eins --format PDF
The output composes like everything else:
archive files nasa --glob '*.jpg' -o url # direct download URLs
archive files nasa --fields name,size -o csv # a size report
View counts and task history
Two more item-scoped commands round this out:
archive views nasa # all-time / 30-day / 7-day view counts
archive views nasa goody jeffm! # several items at once
archive tasks nasa # the catalog / derive task history
views is anonymous. tasks needs credentials
unless you own the item, because the task queue is private; without them the
Archive returns 401 and archive exits with code 4.